Secaucus Public School District

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Resources » What is PARCC

What is PARCC

PARCC is the next generation of standardized testing that will become operational in March of 2015. Assessments will be delivered to students in grades 3 through 11 (including previously untested Grades 9 and 10) via computer in English Language Arts and Mathematics. Beginning in March 2015, PARCC will completely replace NJASK and HSPA as the de facto standardized test in New Jersey's public schools.

PARCC (Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and Careers) is a consortium educators and administrators from 18 states, Washington, D.C. and various territories that were charged with developing an assessment program around the Common Core State Standards (CCSS), which were adopted by the state of New Jersey in 2010.

Students will come into contact with PARCC twice during the school year - in March for Performance-based Assessments (PBAs) and in May for End of Year Assessments (EOYs).

PARCC will be assessing a variety of student skills that are aligned to the CCSS in ELA and Mathematics.

In the fall, Secaucus schools were chosen to participate in either the PBA, EOY or both. Here is the breakdown:

SHS:           2 classes of Grade 10 ELA EOY
SMS:           2 classes of Grade 8 Math PBA and Math EOY
Clarendon: 2 classes of Grade 6 ELA PBA
Huber:        2 classes of Grade 5 ELA PBA and ELA EOY

The PARCC Field Test will be taken by approximately 1 million students in New Jersey and approximately 200 in Secaucus. This represents a sample of approximately 9% of our overall student population.